NB + KVON radio 2/21/20

I am Brave: A Little Book about Martin Luther King, Jr. (Ordinary People Change the World) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984814241
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 10th, 2019

The littlest readers can learn about Martin Luther King, Jr., in this board book version of the New York Times bestselling Ordinary People Change the World biography.


M Is for Melanin: A Celebration of the Black Child Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781499809169
Availability: Out of Stock
Published: little bee books - October 1st, 2019

"Contagiously upbeat, joyful, and positive . . .


Martin Luther King, Jr. (Little People, BIG DREAMS #33) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780711245679
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - January 7th, 2020

In this book from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy best-selling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Martin Luther King, Jr., the inspiring minister and civil rights activist.

Little Martin grew up in a family of preachers: his dad was a preacher, his uncle was a preacher, his grandfather was a preacher…so maybe he’d become a great


Sulwe Cover Image
By Lupita Nyong'o, Vashti Harrison (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534425361
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 15th, 2019

A New York Times bestseller!
Recipient of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award
Recipient of an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Children’s Literary Work

From Academy Award–winning actress Lupita Nyong’o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colorism, self-esteem, and learning that true beauty comes from within.


Sing a Song: How Lift Every Voice and Sing Inspired Generations Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 6th, 2019

"Lyons delivers the history of a song that has inspired generations of African-Americans to persist and resist in the face of racism and systemic oppression. . . . A heartfelt history of a historic anthem."--Publishers Weekly

Sing a song full of the faith that the dark past has taught us.


A Place to Land: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Speech That Inspired a Nation Cover Image
By Barry Wittenstein, Jerry Pinkney (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823443314
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Neal Porter Books - August 27th, 2019

As a new generation of activists demands an end to racism, A Place to Land reflects on Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" speech and the movement that it galvanized.

Winner of the Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children
Selected for the Texas Bluebonnet Master List


Frederick Douglass: Voice for Justice, Voice for Freedom (Step into Reading) Cover Image
By Frank Murphy, Nicole Tadgell (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781524772352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - December 31st, 2019

Learn about the abolitionist Frederick Douglass and his fight for freedom in this Step 3 Biography Reader!


Maya Angelou: (History Book for Kids, Biography Book for Children) (Little Guides to Great Lives) Cover Image
By Danielle Jawando, Snir Noa (Illustrator)
$11.99
ISBN: 9781786275073
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Laurence King Publishing - October 1st, 2019

This Maya Angelou children's book is a perfect introduction to one of the world's most famous writers.


Trailblazers: Jackie Robinson: Breaking Barriers in Baseball Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593124048
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

Bring history home and meet some of the world's greatest game changers! get inspired by the true story of the player who broke the color barrier in Major League Baseball. This biography series is for kids who loved Who Was? and are ready for the next level.


Little Legends: Exceptional Men in Black History Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316475143
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 19th, 2019

Author-illustrator Vashti Harrison shines a bold, joyous light on black men through history in this #1 New York Times bestseller.


DK Life Stories: Harriet Tubman Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781465485427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DK Children - October 1st, 2019

In this kids' biography, discover the inspiring story of Harriet Tubman, a fearless activist and abolitionist who helped free many slaves.


Child of the Dream (A Memoir of 1963) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338282801
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 3rd, 2019

An incredible memoir from Sharon Robinson about one of the most important years of the civil rights movement.


A Black Woman Did That Cover Image
By Malaika Adero, Chanté Timothy (Illustrator)
$11.99
ISBN: 9781941367513
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Downtown Bookworks - February 18th, 2020

A Black Woman Did That! spotlights vibrant, inspiring black women whose accomplishments have changed the world for the better.

A Black Woman Did That! is a celebration of strong, resilient, innovative, and inspiring women of color.


Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
By Cheryl Hudson, Erin K. Robinson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645818
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.


Say Her Name Cover Image
By Zetta Elliott, Loveis Wise (Illustrator), Loveis Wise (Cover design or artwork by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368045247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 14th, 2020

Inspired by the #SayHerName campaign launched by the African American Policy Forum, these poems pay tribute to victims of police brutality as well as the activists insisting that Black Lives Matter. Elliott engages poets from the past two centuries to create a chorus of voices celebrating the creativity, resilience, and courage of Black women and girls.


Malcolm X: By Any Means Necessary (Scholastic Focus) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781338309850
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Nonfiction - December 26th, 2019

A classic and highly acclaimed biography of civil rights activist Malcolm X, ever more relevant for today's readers.


Stolen Justice: The Struggle for African American Voting Rights (Scholastic Focus): The Struggle for African American Voting Rights Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338323481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Focus - January 7th, 2020

A thrilling and incisive examination of the post-Reconstruction era struggle for and suppression of African American voting rights in the United States.

Following the Civil War, the Reconstruction era raised a new question to those in power in the US: Should African Americans, so many of them former slaves, be granted the right to vote?


Saving Savannah Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681198040
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, Warehouse ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - January 14th, 2020

From acclaimed author Tonya Bolden comes the story of a teen girl becoming a woman on her own terms against the backdrop of widespread social change in the early 1900s.