User login

964 Pearl Street Napa, California 707-733-3199 
Mon-Sat: 10AM - 8PM Sun: 12PM - 5PM            

610 First Street, Shop 4 Napa, California 707-266-1832
Sun: 8:30AM - 7PM Mon-Tues: 9AM - 8PM  Wed-Thurs: 9AM - 7PM Fri: 9AM - 8PM Sat: 8:30AM - 8PM

0 Items $0.00

A Wolf Called Wander // Kids Event!

Come to Napa Bookmine for a summer wildlife tracking workshop lead by Rosanne Parry, author of the New York Times Best selling middle grade novel, A Wolf Called Wander. Every young reader will get a free trackers notebook and 3 magic tricks to make wildlife easier to see! This event is perfect for kids 8-12 but all are welcome.
 
This gorgeous, literary novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. Illustrated throughout, this gripping tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan. The book features additional resources about wolves and a map.

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter. Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable 1000 miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home.

Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites readers to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Fred Gipson’s Old Yeller and Katherine Applegate’s Endling.

Event address: 
964 Pearl St
Napa, CA 94559
A Wolf Called Wander Cover Image
By Rosanne Parry, Mónica Armiño (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062895936
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 7th, 2019

A New York Times bestseller

“Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.”—Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal winning author of The One and Only Ivan