VIRTUAL AUTHOR EVENT // Kendra Atleework - Miracle Country: A Memoir of a Family and a Landscape

Due to the COVID-19 this will now be a virtual event held on Zoom.

Join Napa Bookmine on Wednesday, July 21st at 7:00PM PT for a virtual author hour with author Kendra Atleework to discuss her book Miracle Country: A Memoir of a Family and a Landscape. Kendra will be interviewed by author Alex Espinoza.

This is a VIRTUAL event and will take place on Zoom. You must fill out this form to attend. We will follow up with the event info within 48 hours of receiving your request.

This is a free event. If you are able, a donation of $5 is suggested to help us cover costs. Donate hereYou can also order a copy of Miracle Country below.


ABOUT THE BOOK

WINNER OF THE SIGURD F. OLSON NATURE WRITING AWARD

“Blending family memoir and environmental history, Kendra Atleework conveys a fundamental truth: the places in which we live, live on—sometimes painfully—in us. This is a powerful, beautiful, and urgently important book.”
—Julie Schumacher, author of Dear Committee Members and The Shakespeare Requirement 


Kendra Atleework grew up in Swall Meadows, in the Owens Valley of the Eastern Sierra Nevada, where annual rainfall averages five inches and in drought years measures closer to zero.

Kendra’s parents taught their children to thrive in this beautiful, if harsh, landscape, prone to wildfires, blizzards, and gale-force winds. Above all, they were raised on unconditional love and delight in the natural world. After Kendra’s mother died of a rare autoimmune disease when Kendra was just sixteen, however, her once-beloved desert world came to feel empty and hostile, as climate change, drought, and wildfires intensified. The Atleework family fell apart, even as her father tried to keep them together. Kendra escaped to Los Angeles, and then Minneapolis, land of tall trees, full lakes, water everywhere you look. 

But after years of avoiding her troubled hometown, she realized that she needed to come to terms with its past and present and had to go back. Miracle Country is a moving and unforgettable memoir of flight and return, emptiness and bounty, the realities of a harsh and changing climate, and the true meaning of home. For readers of Cheryl Strayed, Terry Tempest Williams, and Rebecca Solnit, this is a breathtaking debut by a remarkable writer.  

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kendra Atleework received her MFA in creative writing from the University of Minnesota. An essay that formed the basis for a chapter of Miracle Country was selected for The Best American Essays 2015. She is the recipient of the Ellen Meloy Desert Writers Award and the AWP Intro Journals Project Award.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ABOUT ALEX ESPINOZA

Alex Espinoza graduated from the University of California-Riverside, then went on to earn an MFA from UC-Irvine’s Program in Writing. His first novel, Still Water Saints, was published by Random House in 2007. His second novel, The Five Acts of Diego León, was published by Random House in March 2013. Alex’s work has appeared in several anthologies and journals. His awards include a 2009 Margaret Bridgeman Fellowship in Fiction to the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, a 2014 Fellowship in Prose from the National Endowment for the Arts, and a 2014 American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation for The Five Acts of Diego León. Alex teaches at UC-Riverside where he serves as the Tomás Rivera Endowed Chair of Creative Writing.  https://www.alexespinoza.com/

 

 


 

Event address: 
This is a virtual event.
Miracle Country: A Memoir of a Family and a Landscape Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643751412
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - June 1st, 2021

WINNER OF THE SIGURD F. OLSON NATURE WRITING AWARD
WINNER OF THE WOMEN WRITING THE WEST WILLA LITERARY AWARD IN CREATIVE NONFICTION


“[A] shimmering memoir . . .