User login

964 Pearl Street Napa, California 707-733-3199 
Mon-Sat: 10AM - 8PM Sun: 12PM - 5PM            

610 First Street, Shop 4 Napa, California 707-699-1756
Sun: 8:30AM - 7PM Mon-Tues: 9AM - 8PM  Wed-Thurs: 9AM - 7PM Fri: 9AM - 8PM Sat: 8:30AM - 8PM

0 Items $0.00

Cara Wall // The Dearly Beloved

A luminous debut novel about two young couples whose lives become intertwined when the husbands are appointed co-ministers of a venerable New York City church in the 1960s, spanning decades—for readers of Ann Patchett and Nicole Krauss.

Charles and Lily, James and Nan. They meet in Greenwich Village in 1963 when Charles and James are jointly hired to steward the historic Third Presbyterian Church through turbulent times. Their personal differences however, threaten to tear them apart. Charles is destined to succeed his father as an esteemed professor of history at Harvard, until an unorthodox lecture about faith leads him to ministry. How then, can he fall in love with Lily--fiercely intellectual, elegantly stern—after she tells him with certainty that she will never believe in God? And yet, how can he not? James, the youngest son in a hardscrabble Chicago family, spent much of his youth angry at his alcoholic father and avoiding his anxious mother. Nan grew up in Mississippi, the devout and beloved daughter of a minister and a debutante. James's escape from his desperate circumstances leads him to Nan and, despite his skepticism of hope in all its forms, her gentle, constant faith changes the course of his life.

In The Dearly Beloved, we follow these two couples through decades of love and friendship, jealousy and understanding, forgiveness and commitment. Against the backdrop of turbulent changes facing the city and the church’s congregation, these four forge improbable paths through their evolving relationships, each struggling with uncertainty, heartbreak, and joy. A poignant meditation on faith and reason, marriage and children, and the ways we find meaning in our lives, Cara Wall’s The Dearly Beloved is a gorgeous, wise, and provocative novel that is destined to become a classic.

Cara Wall is a graduate of the Iowa Writer’s Workshop and Stanford University. While at Iowa, Cara taught fiction writing in the undergraduate creative writing department as well as at the Iowa Young Writer’s Studio in her capacity of founder and inaugural director. She went on to teach middle school English and History, and has been published by Glamour, Salon, and The San Francisco Chronicle. She lives in New York City with her family.

Event date: 
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
964 Pearl St
NAPA, CA 94559
The Dearly Beloved: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982104528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 13th, 2019

***A Today show “Read with Jenna” Book Club Selection***

“A moving portrait of love and friendship set against a backdrop of social change.” —The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

“Here is the power of the novel in its simplest, richest form: bearing intimate witness to human beings grappling with t