User login

Napa Bookmine is temporarily closed to the public due to COVID-19, but we are still accepting online orders!

$4 local delivery to zipcodes 94558 and 94559.

Curbside pickup from 10AM-5PM daily at the Pearl St. shop & 10AM-3PM Mon-Sat in St. Helena. We will notify you when your order is ready for pickup.

Trade-ins by appointment only. Make a trade-in appointment here.

Email read@napabookmine.com if you have questions.

0 Items $0.00

CANCELLED: AUTHOR EVENT // Daniel Mathews - Trees In Trouble @ the Napa Library

Due to the State of Califorina Shelter-In-Place order regarding protective measures for COVID-19, this event has been cancelled. 

Join Napa Bookmine at the Napa County Library on Monday, May 4, 2020 for an event with author Daniel Mathews and his new book TREES IN TROUBLE.

This is a free event. The presentation will be available in Spanish translation as well. 

"Anyone who has been affected by recent wildfires (as my family has), anyone who cares about reducing our carbon output, anyone who wants to be able to walk into a forest full of living trees will benefit from Mathews' careful research and engaging discussion. Though the focus is fairly narrow, the implications are broad, and this book is another page-turner in the tradition of The Hidden Life of Trees and The Songs of Trees. Yes, our trees are in trouble, but we can definitely do something about it." - Elayna Trucker, Napa Bookmine

 


 

ABOUT THE BOOK

A troubling story of the devastating and compounding effects of climate change in the Western and Rocky Mountain states, told through in-depth reportage and conversations with ecologists, professional forest managers, park service scientists, burn boss, activists, and more.

Climate change manifests in many ways across America, but few as dramatic as the attacks on our western pine forests. In Trees in Trouble, Daniel Mathews tells the urgent story of this loss, accompanying burn crews and forest ecologists as they study the myriad risk factors and refine techniques for saving this important, limited resource.

Mathews transports the reader from the exquisitely aromatic haze of ponderosa and Jeffrey pine groves to the fantastic gnarls and whorls of five-thousand-year-old bristlecone pines, from genetic test nurseries where white pine seedlings are deliberately infected with their mortal enemy to the hottest megafire sites and neighborhoods leveled by fire tornadoes or ember blizzards.

Scrupulously researched, Trees in Trouble not only explores the devastating ripple effects of climate change, but also introduces us to the people devoting their lives to saving our forests. Mathews also offers hope: a new approach to managing western pine forests is underway. Trees in Trouble explores how we might succeed in sustaining our forests through the challenging transition to a new environment.

ABOUT DANIEL MATHEWS

DANIEL MATHEWS is the author of Natural History of the Pacific Northwest Mountains, Rocky Mountain Natural History, and Cascade-Olympic Natural History. During a career of writing about the natural history of western North America, he has backpacked far and wide, watched for fires from Desolation Peak Lookout, witnessed a forty-foot fir crash onto his family's house in a storm, and lived for years in a forest cabin without electricity, heating with firewood and writing by kerosene lamp. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

 

 

 

 

 

This event is co-hosted by the Napa County Resource Conservation District. The RCD empowers the community to voluntarily conserve, protect, and restore natural resources in a landscape that supports agriculture, urban areas, and wild lands. They provide technical assistance, educational programs, monitoring programs, and funding sources to help land managers meet their conservation goals. Amanda Benton, Napa RCD’s Forestry Program Manager, will be in attendance at this event. 

 

Event address: 
580 Coombs St.
Napa Main Library
Napa, CA 94559
Trees in Trouble: Wildfires, Infestations, and Climate Change Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781640091351
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Counterpoint LLC - April 7th, 2020

A troubling story of the devastating and compounding effects of climate change in the Western and Rocky Mountain states, told through in-depth reportage and conversations with ecologists, professional forest managers, park service scientists, burn boss, activists, and more.